It’s weird what your brain retains, it’s probably been 37 years since the words “Rocking rolling riding out along the bay All bound for Morningtown many miles away…” echoed out within a bedroom and yet I remember at least a verse. Probably the verse before I went to sleep or the one that was repeated most. It is actually a song by The Seekers called Morningtown Ride. The full song goes something like this;

“Train whistle blowing makes a sleepy noise
Underneath their blankets go all the girls and boys
Rocking rolling riding out along the bay
All bound for Morningtown many miles away
Driver at the engine fireman rings the bell
Sand man swings the lantern to show that all is well
Rocking rolling riding out along the bay
All bound for Morningtown many miles away
Maybe it is raining where our train will ride
All the little travellers are warm and snug inside
Rocking rolling riding out along the bay
All bound for Morningtown many miles away
Somewhere there is sunshine somewhere there is day
Somewhere there is Morningtown many miles away
Rocking rolling riding out along the bay
All bound for Morningtown many miles away
All bound for Morningtown many miles away”.

There are other songs I remember but rarely all the words, the tv show The Littlest Hobo is another favourite.  I also have an endless catalogue of Beatles lyrics that I’ve heard been belted out over the years by my dad. You get over the embarrassment of your own singing, even with the video monitor on in the background. I just think of returning home from school only to hear your dad singing from the end of the road. 

What hasn’t happened yet is any real singing of songs I grew up with as a teenager. If my parents were singing me songs they may have been listening to as they grew up why am I not. Well I blame the late eighties and nighties and growing up with a strong indie slant. Try singing some Nirvana, Pulp or Radiohead as a bedtime lullaby.  That’s slightly untrue as Spotify is littered with these songs converted to children’s versions without lyrics. I actually created a playlist I used with Sofia when first born but she has not really needed it since.


I guess bedtime reading is next but for now the main music remains the combined dad Sofia entertainment of Katy Perry or Taylor Swift. She proved this weekend that she can now stand for the whole song. As part of this she has developed the Ski stand, legs apart. She isn’t moving anywhere but can now balance and muster the occasional wiggle as she dances to the music. There is an intense looking face concentrating on remaining standing. I hope this won’t be her only source of music, we do try getting her to listen to Radio 6 of a morning. I really need to try some indie videos on her, though the last time she burst in to tears. I hope she develops a taste in more alternative music as she grows older. 

